What stages of baby development are there?

Your child’s sleep development

The baby’s developmental stages go through its sleep rhythm, which changes over the months. In order for your toddler to sleep smoothly, you must first make sure that he is comfortable. A baby must be put to bed after feeding, clean diapers, dressed appropriately for the season and at a room temperature of 20/21 degrees. You must also ensure his safety: when sleeping, avoid bed bumpers, thick duvets, duvets, and prefer a firm, flat mattress to avoid the risk of suffocation. After birth, your child needs 18 to 20 hours of sleep every day.

  • A newborn baby does not have a specific rhythm, there is no difference between day and night until about 3 months.
  • By around 3 months he can sleep 5 to 6 hours at a time and is beginning to get used to 24 hours.
  • Between the 4th and 9th month, your baby usually takes 3 naps: in the morning, early afternoon, at the end of the day and at night, they sleep for 10 to 12 hours at a time.
  • From 9 to 12 months, your baby will only take 2 naps: one in the morning and one in the afternoon.
  • From around 15 months your baby only needs a nap and sleeps 12 hours until the age of around 3 years.

Your child’s diet

From birth to 6 months of age, your baby should get as much milk as possible, as recommended by the WHO. From the 6th month, to start diversifying your child, you need to introduce only one food at a time and keep the milk extra 4 times a day until he is 1 year old. So baby starts his first meals at lunchtime with fresh vegetables, steamed fat-free and mixed in a fine puree or small ready-made jars. From 6 or 7 months, you can introduce fruit compotes for dessert, avoiding those that can be allergenic. From 7 or 8 months, you can give your child a dairy product for dessert, yogurt or processed cheese and introduce 10 grams of protein in their lunch. From 9 months to 1 year, your toddler can eat 20 grams of protein for lunch with their vegetables. He can also eat vegetable soup in the evening instead of his bottle or in addition to it.

From the age of 1 to 3, your child’s meals consist of different dishes:

  • A bottle of milk in the morning;
  • Vegetables accompanied by 30 grams of protein for lunch with a dairy product for dessert;
  • A bottle of milk with compote at 4 o’clock;
  • A soup in the evening or a vegetable dish.

The Different Stages of Awakening

  • In his first month, your baby can distinguish contrasts but not colors. It is sensitive to various sounds and will recognize your smell if you have it against you.
  • At 2 to 3 months your baby will start making noises when they are happy. He tries to raise his head and waves his arms and legs at random. He smiles back when you ask him and follows your movements with his eyes.
  • From 3 to 6 months he holds his head properly, laughs out loud when you make faces at him. He chirps more and more whenever he discovers his voice or tries to call you. He starts trying to grab his toy in his hands.
  • From 6 to 8 months he sits up, plays with his feet and can go from his back to his stomach on his own. The chirping gives way to syllables.
  • From 8 to 10 months he tries to get around by crawling or on 4 legs. He watches and plays with age-appropriate awakening toys.
  • At 10 to 12 months, he makes himself understood much better, he can point out what interests him. He’s standing up now and trying to move around by holding on to something his height. The syllables are replaced with words.
  • From 12 to 36 months, your child will develop their intelligence and memory. He will understand the consequences of his actions. He will mimic your actions to learn more. At about 15 months, walking is fully learned and will even give way to running in the following months. His vocabulary is getting richer, he will form more and more complete sentences.

However, this information is only an average, so don’t worry if your child is slower.

To learn more about the stages of baby development, subscribe to our newsletter.

Leave a Comment